A Book-Themed Baby Shower

The sun is shining, the birds are chirping, the leaves are beginning to cast a soft green hue across the horizon. Finally it seems winter is behind us. Spring brings with it the promise of new life. My parents have a brand new flock of baby lambs cavorting all over their pasture. The Robin couple in my front yard are definitely busy nesting. I think in a two week stretch I found out that five or so friends are expecting. With all of these babies on the way I know  there will be plenty of opportunity for  celebration and of course, the showers.

Even at my very first baby showers I was completely turned off by some of the silly games (melted candy bar in a diaper or who can drink the fastest out of a baby bottle, anyone?). Now the mere thought of those worn out themes gives me chills… and makes me want to bring a flask. There are ways around these degrading themes, and I thought we might share a few ideas here to help with the inspiration.

I love books, and as I child I adored the summers my mother would read us Little House on the Prairie and Little Women. I know my love of reading and books started from infancy with the childhood classics that lined our bookshelves growing up. I still pause a moment in the bookstore when I happen upon one of my favorite titles from early childhood. Flipping through those pages brings back nostalgic feelings of warmth and security. Is there ever a better parenting moment in life than breathing in soft baby skin fresh from the bathtub, and reading them to sweet dreams at night?

A book themed shower seems like the perfect way to help that expectant family in your life get their library for baby started. Ask guests to bring their favorite book from childhood along with the gift. Here are two examples I found that would be so cute as invites. With this first example I  love the idea of  including a book plate with the invites.

printable inviteThis *free* printable are by Anna Bond and can be found on her Creature Comforts Blog

Of course I don’t want to do anything these days that doesn’t include some type of hand lettering somewhere in the event. This invitation was designed by Design House of Moira or visit our favorite local artist, Hannah Katherine, who has found a passion in all things hand lettered.

hand lettered inviteDesign House of Moira as featured on the blog On to Baby

Once all the guests have been invited we can move onto the decorations and food! Look at some of these gorgeous decor ideas! All of which I feel like could be modified to work for indoor/outdoor spaces. love garlands and love succulents so why not include both of those ideas into decor?

book theme decor - CopyBasically Martha Stewart continues to just make it happen with events

book theme decor 2Again credit goes to On to Baby

book theme decor 3 - Copy

book theme decor 4 - Copy

book theme decor 5 - Copysucculents! found on Vintage Page Designs where you can also find lots of other fun with succulents.

What about a hand lettered chalk board welcoming guests, listing the menu, or otherwise instructing guests on any activities taking place that day? Again, our favorite local artist, Hannah Katherine, has some amazing examples of her work on her website.

hand lettering

I am not always a fan of the traditional guest book at events, but when I saw this idea that could be framed for the baby’s room I couldn’t resist adding it to this post.

guest bookIf I can’t buy locally, Etsy is generally my first stop for gifts.

Of course can’t have a party without food and cake! I found a few inspiring pics, but I think  you could choose your menu and then make it relate back to a children’s book…there are a lot of stories that seem to revolve around food such as:

If you Give a Mouse a Cookie or for that matter

If You Give a Mouse a Muffin

Green Eggs and Ham

Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs

Country Bear’s Good Neighbor

Very Hungary Caterpillar

book food 2Found on The Daily Garnish

book food 3photo: The Daily Garnish

book foodfrom Mimi Dos it Yourself (mostly)

book food 5Again another Martha Stewart idea, but I loved these toothpicks

book food 4I mentioned how much I love garlands..so why not incorporate them onto cake? photo: Lindseye Archer

Hope this helps with party planning inspiration! Share your great ideas with us! Submit a shower you planned (or were the guest of honor) We would love to share your ideas!

Leave a Reply

Fibercopia

A Textile Blog for Designers, Collectors and Enthusiasts

Heart and Habit

all things baby through the eyes of two baby store owners

Grey Likes Baby

Baby Blog by Grey Likes

mama congo

all things baby through the eyes of two baby store owners

Little Crown Interiors

Interior Design, Online Boutique and Expert Advice for Nurseries and Childrens Rooms

Lay Baby Lay

all things baby through the eyes of two baby store owners

Over The Moon for Babies

all things baby through the eyes of two baby store owners

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

