Nursery Design: Maps and Atlases

I fully believe this year to be the year of the map…and maybe the globe as well.  I have been a fan of maps since I was a small child with a wooden puzzle of the United States. It excites me to see vintage maps put to good use as wrapping paper, book covers and now incorporated into room decor in the home.

To me, a map represents limitless possibilities in life. It also represents a way home. My heart beats a little faster when I look at a map of a destination I want to visit, when I see a map of my home state/town, or a place I once traveled. A map can take me right back to the corner cafe of a foreign city or to my childhood home.

There are grand possibilities in a spinning globe, eyes squeezed tightly shut,  finger poised to land when the spinning has stopped. Fate will ensure we get there one day.

It is with these romantic notions in mind that I find the use of maps in a baby’s nursery to be absolutely divine. This is how we got here, and oh the places you will go, little one…

 

 

Framed map hearts photo cred fromhttp://bit.ly/16BZcDrLove this idea especially for parents who have different home towns

From the folks at Aesthetic Addictionhttp://bit.ly/14ZUd09breaking up a vintage map in several different frames

What if you are using a sleeping porch or sun room or other nontraditional room as your nursery? how cool is the map covering the door panes?http://bit.ly/11Q7jJo

The folks at Babblehttp://bit.ly/13ayun2have ten fun ways to decorate with maps around the home, but I loved these darling garlands!

Belfast Kate shared the ideas of the dark wall (which I love in a nursery) with the decal world map. Also how great is the urban map of a city near and dear to your heart?

Vintage globes le sigh…http://bit.ly/17l4apj

What about a globe mobile? This is the galaxy nursery design by Dwell Studios which is available for purchase at Over the Moon (shameless plug)

Leave a Reply

Fibercopia

A Textile Blog for Designers, Collectors and Enthusiasts

Heart and Habit

all things baby through the eyes of two baby store owners

Grey Likes Baby

Baby Blog by Grey Likes

mama congo

all things baby through the eyes of two baby store owners

Little Crown Interiors

Interior Design, Online Boutique and Expert Advice for Nurseries and Childrens Rooms

Lay Baby Lay

all things baby through the eyes of two baby store owners

Over The Moon for Babies

all things baby through the eyes of two baby store owners

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

