Boob-olution!

I am the mother of a 14-year-old daughter.  I was young when I had her and breastfeeding was really one of those things that I just couldn’t bring myself to do.  Plus with the abundance of formula I was sent home with from the hospital, it was so easy to just do that and not breastfeed.  Honestly speaking, I still have no problem with formula and the decision to not breastfeed.  I stay neutral because, let’s face it, everyone is different and everyone’s needs are different.  So, that being said, I support both bottle and breast. breast or bottle

HOWEVER, I am a HUGE supporter of women who breastfeed being able to do so in public without the sideways glances, underhanded comments, requests to go to a private room, people making dumb-@#$ comments about the mother “sexing it up” (come on!).

Why has it become so taboo to breastfeed in public, in America, where boobs are everywhere?  I know the obvious, formula company fed answer to that question.  How money making and fast-paced lifestyles don’t lend itself to the ideals of feeding your own baby from your own body.  But why have WE, the normal people, who are not profiting (quite the opposite, formula is expensive!), let ourselves get brainwashed into thinking less than kind thoughts when seeing a woman breastfeeding?  When did that start?  As far back as I can remember, I have been uncomfortable with seeing breastfeeding.  I wondered if the woman was uncomfortable with me nearby?  I thought is was such a private thing, I made me feel embarrassed to even see it in friends houses while their baby siblings were eating, or at a restaurant, etc.

As I have gotten older and more socially, biologically and common-sensically aware, I have had a major change of response to seeing breastfeeding, privately or publicly.  That decision to accept something, celebrate it even, is not a hard one.  That brings me to my point…

gwen steffaniAugust is Breastfeeding Awareness Month and we couldn’t be more excited here at Over The Moon!  The new push for acceptance of public breastfeeding is a huge step for women, whether you are lactating or not!  Several groups and individuals have really made a huge impact and started the awesome movement that is Boob-olution.

August 15th is Public Display of Breastfeeding (PDB) Day!  This year, it is a statement.  In subsequent years, I hope it is a celebration!  Kinda like Mother’s day, or grandparents day.  Let’s make a big deal out of all the brave moms who want to empower themselves and give their baby FOOD all while sitting in public, in a country   that only wants to sex up the breast.  Let’s change the perspective of people who have grown up in the closed minded communities that encourage women to give up on their bodies and feed their babies in private, or with formula.  Let’s take the shock and awe out of seeing public breastfeeding and turn it into an accepted and even miraculous glimpse into the life of a growing child.  Let’s make it normal!maggie gyllenhaall

Some awesome Breastfeeding links:

Did you know Breastfeeding mothers are exempt from jury duty in the State of Virginia?! Other state-by-state breastfeeding laws can be found here.

Join the Boob-olution!  Even if you are not a mother yet, take the pledge here to join forces with lots of amazing women are doing the same

Send us your pictures showing off how awesome you are by breastfeeding in public!  overthemoon@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Fibercopia

A Textile Blog for Designers, Collectors and Enthusiasts

Heart and Habit

all things baby through the eyes of two baby store owners

Grey Likes Baby

Baby Blog by Grey Likes

mama congo

all things baby through the eyes of two baby store owners

Little Crown Interiors

Interior Design, Online Boutique and Expert Advice for Nurseries and Childrens Rooms

Lay Baby Lay

all things baby through the eyes of two baby store owners

Over The Moon for Babies

all things baby through the eyes of two baby store owners

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

